RSS

My Father’s Eyes

28 Feb

From the very beginning,

you saw thought,

wondering what he saw.

He always saw more than you thought.

 

It wasn’t so much kindness,

although he is kind,

you saw caring,

more understanding than you thought.

 

They sparkled with mischief,

and still do,

crinkled with laughter,

enjoying us more than you thought.

 

You wanted him to see you do well.

You wanted to see pride for you in them.

He may not have said the words,

though his eyes showed more than you thought.

 

They no longer see

more than light and shape.

But the rest is still there.

Those will stay longer than you thought.

 

I have my dad’s eyes.

I only hope I have the rest.

And I hope my dad’s eyes saw

how much I love him…

 

…even more than he thought.

 

 

Larry  Humphries

© November 2010

 

 
1 Comment

Posted by on February 28, 2011 in Poetry

 

One response to “My Father’s Eyes

  1. Nicole M. Kokensparger

    August 6, 2011 at 12:49 am

    Love this Larry

     

Leave a Reply

 
